APTN CORPORATE AWARDS & RECOGNITIONSCanada’s Top Employers for Young People
Since 2017
This designation distinguishes employers that offer the nation’s best workplaces and programs for young people who are launching their careers.

Canada’s Top 100 Employers
Since 2013
Recognizes employers with exceptional human resources programs and forward-thinking workplace policies.

Manitoba’s Top 30 Employers
Since 2009
Acknowledges employers in the province who pride themselves in offering innovative programs and exceptional workplaces.

Playback Executive of the Year 
This distinction recognizes individuals who have made a significant impact in their respective sectors. APTN CEO Monika Ille was named Executive of the Year for keeping the network adaptable while successfully leading it through modernization and its mandate to represent First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples. 

Desautels Management Achievement Award
This award celebrates industry leaders who demonstrate a career of great achievement and commitment to the future of responsible business. Awarded to APTN CEO Monika Ille. 

The Chamber, Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce, Spirit of Winnipeg Award
This award recognizes an outstanding effort and commitment to making Winnipeg a better, more prosperous community through corporate leadership and social responsibility.

One of Canada’s Best Workplaces for Employees Living with Arthritis
Arthritis Experts Consumers recognition to organizations that apply best arthritis strategies and practices in the workplace.

Manitoba Tourism Awards
2014 & 2016
Indigenous Tourism Award for APTN Indigenous Day Live.

Canada’s Outstanding Employer Award from The Learning Partnership
For participating in the Take Our Kids to Work™ Program.

Canada’s 10 Most Admired Corporate Cultures™ Waterstone Human Capital
2014, 2020, 2021
For enhancing performance and sustaining a competitive advantage.

Signature Award in Self Promotion – Where We Connect Campaign
Showcases the best advertising, marketing and design produced in Manitoba.

Top 7 Intelligent Communities of the Year by the Intelligent Community Forum
APTN mentioned as a contributing factor to the City of Winnipeg being shortlisted.


RTDNA Awards

2021 President’s Award
APTN National News – Cheryl McKenzie
Investigative Award, Central Region
Global Toronto, Institute for Investigative Journalism and APTN News – Former Neskantaga Contractor Accused of Cutting Corners in Other First Nations

Atlantic Journalism Awards

Breaking News/Spot News: Television

Mi’kmaw Fishery (Angel Moore, Trina Roache, Paul Poirier – Halifax, N.S.)

Michener Awards

APTN News and APTN Investigates – Death by Neglect (Kenneth Jackson and Cullen Crozier)

Canadian Screen Awards

Best News or Information Program
APTN Investigates, “In Plain Sight” (Kenneth Jackson and Cullen Crozier) 

Best National Reporter
Tina House, APTN National News
Best News or Information Series 
APTN Investigates
Best News or Information Segment
APTN Investigates, “The Death Report” (Kenneth Jackson and Cullen Crozier) 

Best News or Information Segment

APTN Investigates, “Writing Home” (Holly Moore and Brittany Guyot)

Gordon Sinclair Award for Broadcast Journalism

Karyn Pugliese, APTN’s former executive director of news and current affairs, for her exceptional contribution to Canadian television journalism.
Best News or Information Segment
APTN Investigates, “Against Their Will” (Cullen Crozier, Holly Moore and Paul Barnsley)

Native American Journalists Association (NAJA)

Elias Boudinot Free Press Award
Richard LaCourse Award for Investigative Journalism

The Canadian Committee for World Press Freedom (CCWPF) Annual Press Freedom Award

Awarded to APTN journalist and producer Kenneth Jackson.
The Canadian Committee for World Press Freedom recognizes The Independent and Justin Brake’s commitment to telling the story of the development of the controversial Labrador-based hydroelectric project Muskrat Falls.

Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ) Awards

Broadcast News category
APTN Investigates – Writing Home / Carving Home (Holly Moore, Brittany Guyot)

Charles Bury Award

CAJ’s highest recognition award recognizes Karyn Pugliese, APTN executive director of news and current affairs, APTN National News, and APTN Investigates as significant contributors to Canadian journalism.
Open Broadcast Feature Award
Nomination, APTN Investigates for Forgotten Survivors.
Open Broadcast News Award
Nomination, APTN National News for Black Tickle.
Scoop Award
Nomination, APTN Investigates for Police Admit Racism.

APTN National News and APTN Investigates receive an unprecedented four nominations.
Communications Workers of America Canada Award
APTN Investigates for Hurting for Work.
Journalists for Human Rights/CAJ Award for Human Rights Reporting
APTN National News for A Soldier Scorned.

Investigative Journalism Award, Open Television (less than five minutes)
APTN National News, web journalist Jorge Barrera and reporter Kenneth Jackson, for Water Exploitation – Bruce Carson.

PEN Canada/Ken Filkow Prize

APTN National News – reporter Justin Brake, who demonstrated courage and integrity in the interest of freedom of expression in Canada.

Canadian Hillman Prize

Honourable Mention – APTN Investigates – Jorge Barrera, Mark Blackburn and Francine Compton for Quest for Innocence.

Beyond Borders ECPAT Canada Media Award

English Electronic
APTN National News – Cullen Crozier for Forgotten Survivors.

Journalists for Human Rights Awards

JHR Lifetime Achievement Human Rights Reporting Award
APTN Investigates — executive producer Paul Barnsley.

World Indigenous Journalism Awards

Best Videography
APTN National News – studio crew/camera person Bill Scott for Sundance.


WIJ Honour
APTN National News – video journalist Rob Smith for Journey Home.
WIJ Special Recognition
APTN National News – Jorge Barrera, Kenneth Jackson, Paul Barnsley and Mark Blackburn for Water Exploitation – Bruce Carson.

J-Source Canadian Newsperson of the Year Award

APTN National News – web journalist Jorge Barrera for his multi-platform reporting on the Idle No More movement.

Amnesty International Media Award

Long-Form Video
APTN Investigates – journalist Trina Roache for her investigation titled Law of the Land.

Online Award
APTN Investigates – executive producer Paul Barnsley and senior researcher/writer Kathleen Martens for Residential School Lawyers.

Audio/Video Report Award
APTN Investigates – reporter Tina House for Missing Women

Native American Journalists Native Media Awards

InVision News four First Place Awards

Canadian Ethnic Journalists and Writers Club

APTN receives two awards

Manitoba Aboriginal Youth Achievement Award

APTN National News director

Order of Canada

APTN National News director

Canadian Society of Cinematographers

Stan Clinton Award for News Essay Cinematography

APTN camera editor/operator Luke Smith for Caribou Matter