March 5, 2014

Winnipeg, Manitoba – Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) is pleased to congratulate the winners associated with the network that were awarded a Canadian Screen Award in the Documentary and Academy Special Awards categories. This Canadian Screen Awards Gala presented awards in News & Sports, Documentary, Lifestyle, Reality and Digital Media and was hosted by comedian Steve Patterson at the Sheraton Centre Toronto.

We Were Children, an unparalleled visual narrative of residential school survivors’ experiences directed by Tim Wolochatiuk and written by Jason Sherman garnered two awards. Jeremy Benning (csc) and Kim Bell were presented the “Best Photography in a Documentary Program or Series Award.” Also, Daniel Pellerin, Howard Rissin, Jeremy MacLaverty, John Sievert, Randy Wilson, Rob Hutchins, Stan Mak and Stefan Fraticelli were presented the “Best Sound in an Information/Documentary or Lifestyle Program or Series Award.”

The Academy Special Awards were also presented at the gala. Alanis Obomsawin, an Abenaki-Canadian documentarian credited with chronicling First Nation’s cultures and history for more than 40 years was presented the “Humanitarian Award.”

The Canadian Screen Awards celebrate Canadian productions and talent who excel in front of the camera and behind-the-scenes in Canadian film, television and digital media. Martin Short, will host the 2-Hour Live Broadcast Gala Sunday, March 9, 2013 at 8 p.m. on CBC, from the Sony Centre for the Performing Arts in Toronto. For more information visit: